YOUR VOICE, YOUR VOTE: Halpin (D) vs. Evans, Sr. (R)

MOLINE, Illinois – One of the most interesting Quad City area legislative races involves a freshman state representative facing a well known community activist.

State Representative Mike Halpin, a Democrat, sat down with News 8 and his opponent, Republican Glen Evans, Sr.  It was streamed live on WQAD.com and the WQAD Facebook page.

Halpin is seeking re-election after winning in 2016.  Evans is running despite opposition from the Rock Island County Republican Party leadership.

This is part of a series of interviews planned before the November 2018 election.

The candidates who have confirmed they will appear are:

  • Tuesday, October 2: Iowa 91st District House- Rep. Gary Carlson (R) vs. Laura Liegois (D)
  • Tuesday, October 9: Iowa 94th District House- Rep. Gary Mohr (R) vs. Joan Marttila (D)
  • Thursday, October 11: Illinois 72nd House- Rep. Mike Halpin (D) vs. Glen Evans, Sr. (R)
  • Monday, October 15: Illinois 36th Senate- Sen. Neil Anderson (R) vs. Gregg Johnson (D)
  • Wednesday, October 17: Illinois 25 House- Joan Padilla (D) vs. Rep. Tony McCombie (R)
  • Thursday, October 18: Iowa 47th Senate: Marie Gleason (D)
  • Tuesday, October 23: Iowa 49th Senate: Patti Robinson (D)
  • Wednesday, October 24: Iowa 92nd House: Rep. Ross Paustian (R) vs. Jean Simmon (D)
  • Tuesday, October 30: Iowa 97th House: Rep. Norlin Mommsen (R) vs. Tim McClimon (D)
  • Thursday, November 1: Iowa 47th Senate: Sen. Roby Smith (R)

The interviews will be posted on WQAD.com so voters can watch the discussions any time before the November 6th election.