22 candidates seek appointment to Iowa Supreme Court vacancy

This is an archived article and the information in the article may be outdated. Please look at the time stamp on the story to see when it was last updated.

Iowa Supreme Court

DES MOINES, Iowa (AP) — A commission will meet July 9 to evaluate 22 applications to fill a vacancy on the Iowa Supreme Court.

The nominating commission will select three finalists to replace Justice Bruce Zager, who will retire Sept. 3.

Gov. Kim Reynolds will have 30 days to make an appointment from among those finalists.

Written comments about the qualifications of applicants are being accepted through July 9. Information on the applicants is available from the Iowa Judicial Branch website .

The applicants are judges and attorneys living in Adel, Ames, Bettendorf, Cedar Rapids, Center Point, Corydon, Des Moines, Harlan, Iowa City, Lisbon, Sioux City, Tama, Waterloo and West Des Moines.

The Bettendorf candidate is current Pleasant Valley School Board member Jean Dickson, who is a partner in the Davenport firm Betty, Neuman and McMahon.

The nominating commission is comprised of eight lawyers elected by Iowa Bar Association members and eight non-lawyers appointed by the governor with Senate confirmation.

Notice: you are using an outdated browser. Microsoft does not recommend using IE as your default browser. Some features on this website, like video and images, might not work properly. For the best experience, please upgrade your browser.