Rock Island voters elect Mike Thoms for mayor

This is an archived article and the information in the article may be outdated. Please look at the time stamp on the story to see when it was last updated.

ROCK ISLAND -- Mike Thoms has been voted in as Rock Island's new mayor.

Four candidates were running for the mayoral seat after outgoing Mayor Dennis Pauley announced that he was not seeking a third term; he had been mayor since 2008.

The men running for the seat were Stephen Tollenaer, Mike Thoms, Terry Brooks, and Andrew Rowe. Voters elected Thoms with 52.2% of the vote. Andrew Rowe finished second with 21.9% .Brooks finished with 913 votes for 15.3% of the total and Tollenaer captured 10.5 percent. All results are according to final, unofficial election returns.

Click here for more election results

Below: Watch the debate between Rock Island and Moline's mayoral candidates, hosted by the QC Chamber.

Notice: you are using an outdated browser. Microsoft does not recommend using IE as your default browser. Some features on this website, like video and images, might not work properly. For the best experience, please upgrade your browser.