Click here for all the John Deere Classic news – on and off the course

2016 Jefferson Awards Special

This is an archived article and the information in the article may be outdated. Please look at the time stamp on the story to see when it was last updated.

The 2016 Jefferson Awards Special recognizes our community's "unsung heroes." Every year - with the help of our Presenting Partner, Genesis Health System - WQAD News 8 shares the stories of 8 Nominees, nominated by our viewers.

This year's Jefferson Awards Nominees include: Bill DeVrieze, Teri Johnson, Jim Swope, Angie DeWilfond, Lisa Lynn Eveleth, Rusty Ruggles, Bob Morrison, and Cheryl Paasch. In Spring 2016, we chose Cheryl Paasch to represent the QCA in Washington, D.C. at the National Jefferson Awards Ceremony on June 16th, 2016. Grassroots recipients are selected through local media partners in markets throughout the country.

The Jefferson Awards Foundation is America's gold seal of public service and honors outstanding public service achievers every year. Honorees include celebrities, public service professionals, entrepreneurs, local heroes, and corporations all dedicated to public service.

WQAD News 8 and Genesis Health System are about to start their 3rd Season of the Jefferson Awards. If you know an "unsung hero" in your community, nominate them here.