Area counties damaged by severe weather receive Presidential Disaster Declarations

This is an archived article and the information in the article may be outdated. Please look at the time stamp on the story to see when it was last updated.

Storm damage in Durant 6-17-14 (photo from Judy Thoma)3

Some Iowa counties in the Quad City area have received Presidential Disaster Declarations.

A spokesperson from Governor Terry Branstad’s Office said 22 Iowa counties received the declaration, including Cedar, Des Moines, Jackson, Jones, Keokuk, Lee, Linn, and Muscatine Counties.

The governor’s request for a declaration was submitted on July 29, 2014 after severe weather caused significant damage in the area.

The severe weather included damaging winds, tornadoes, heavy rains, hail and thunderstorms from June 26 0 July 27.

These counties will receive federal funding under the Public Assistance Program.

“A Presidential Major Disaster Declaration for Public Assistance puts into motion long-term federal recovery programs, some of which are matched by state programs, and designed to help public entities and select non-profits,” said a spokesperson for the Governor.

The Public Assistance funds can be used for emergency work and repairs to facilities, among other improvements.

This is Iowa’s third Presidential Disaster Declaration in 2014.