Voters select candidates for area County Board of Supervisors

This is an archived article and the information in the article may be outdated. Please look at the time stamp on the story to see when it was last updated.

Several area counties selected candidates for their Board of Supervisors.

It was a close race in Scott County between Democratic candidates Brinson L. Kinzer and James M. Laird. According to the unofficial results from the Iowa Secretary of State’s office, with all precincts reporting Laird pulled ahead with 49.1% of the votes. Kinzer got 47.8%.

The Republican candidates for Scott County’s Board of Supervisors saw themselves in a close race as well. William P. Cusack ended up getting 24.4% of the votes, followed by Carol Earnhardt with 22.7% and Diane Holst with 20.7%. Jard A. Powell and Jay Sommers also ran in the race.

Muscatine County voters chose candidates for the County Board of Supervisors District 2. Republican Matthew Bonebrake ran unopposed and ended up with 99.6% of the vote. Democrats Greg K. Haines and Robert Krysh got 43.3% and 56.5% of the votes, respectively.

Randy M. Griffin and Brad Quigley ran for the Republican Party in the Louisa County race for Board of Supervisors. Griffin received 68.1% of the vote, while Quigley got 31.9%.

Don Hunold and Ernest Scholler represented the Democratic Party in the Lee County race for County Board of Supervisors District 3. Schiller received 42.2% of the votes while Hunold got 57.5%. In the district 2 race, Christopher B. Greenwald and Rick Larkin represented the Democratic Party. Greenwald got 20.2% of the votes while Larkin reeled-in 79.6%.

In the Jones County race for County Board of Supervisors District 3, Republicans Ivan Kurt and Jon C. Zirkelbach received 38.6% and 61.3% of the votes respectively. Representing the Democratic Party was Jeff Cruise and Keith R. Somerville, who got 59.9% and 39.2% of the votes.

Johnson County had a large race for County Board of Supervisors, with many representatives vying for the Democratic candidacy. Janelle Rettig pulled ahead with 35.6% of the votes, followed by Mike Carberry with 27.2%, Lisa Green-Douglass with 26.2% and Diane M. Dunlap with 10.4%.

John Etheredge ran unopposed for the Republican Party’s candidacy. He received 96.3% of the votes.

Troy Thede and John J. Willey represented the Republican Party in the County Board of Supervisors District 2 race for Jackson County. Willey received 73.1% and Thede got 26.9% of the votes. Nobody represented the Democratic Party.

Jackson County’s District 3 race included Tom Devine and Jeff Holtz representing the Republican Party and Henry Kramer and Larry M. McDevitt representing the Democratic Party. Devine and Holtz got 53.7% and 46.3% of the votes, respectively. Kramer and McDevitt got 35.7% and 64.3%, respectively.

Five candidates represented the Republican Party in Clinton County’s Board of Supervisors race. Dan Srp gained the most votes with 29.5%, followed by Shawn Hamerlinck with 23.2%, Lydia Whitman with 18.5%, Kurt Olson with 14.4% and Lester A. Shields with 14.1%.

There were only two Democrats running for the candidacy, Gayle Dolan, who got 51% of the votes, and Jim West, who got 46.9%.

Click here for links to county by county election results.

Click here for race results from our area.

For a full list of results from across the State of Iowa, click here.

Notice: you are using an outdated browser. Microsoft does not recommend using IE as your default browser. Some features on this website, like video and images, might not work properly. For the best experience, please upgrade your browser.