Miller-Meeks to run against Loebsack for U.S. Representative District 2

This is an archived article and the information in the article may be outdated. Please look at the time stamp on the story to see when it was last updated.

Democrat Dave Loebsack will compete against Republican Party representative Mariannette Miller-Meeks for the U.S. Representative District 2 seat in November.

With all precincts reporting, Miller-Meeks received 49.4-percent of the vote.  Mark S. Lofgren followed with 38.2-percent and Matthew C. Waldren had 12.3-percent.

On his website Lofgren says that he served the Muscatine County community in the Iowa House of Representatives for two terms. Lofgren outlined his top priorities which include job creation and less spending. He describes himself as pro-life, pro-family, and pro-business.

“I learned early on how a strong work-ethic was the key to achieving success,” Lofgren said. “I worked my way through school at the University of Iowa and was able to start two successful businesses.”

Miller-Meeks’ website explains that the candidate is an ophthalmologist who has served for three years as the Director of the Iowa Department of Public Health. She says she wants to bring a “problem-solving, common-sense Iowa attitude to Congress.”

“I’m running because as a doctor I couldn’t sit on the sidelines as the Affordable Care Act jeopardizes the healthcare of Iowans,” said Miller-Meeks. “We were promised that premiums would go down and quality and access would go up, but we’re seeing the opposite as the law is being implemented.”

In the U.S. Representative District 1 race, Democrat candidate Pat Murphy had 36-percent of the votes with all precincts reporting. Out of four other opponents, Monica Vernon was the closest with 23.7-percent of the vote.

The Republican candidate who was vying for the U.S. Representative District 1 seat was Rod Blum, running against Steve Rathje and Gail E. Boliver. Blum had 54.7-percent of the vote with all precincts reporting.

Click here for links to county by county election results.

Click here for race results from our area.

For a full list of results from across the State of Iowa, click here.

Notice: you are using an outdated browser. Microsoft does not recommend using IE as your default browser. Some features on this website, like video and images, might not work properly. For the best experience, please upgrade your browser.