Bettendorf school titled National Blue Ribbon School

This is an archived article and the information in the article may be outdated. Please look at the time stamp on the story to see when it was last updated.

A Bettendorf elementary school has been named as a 2013 National Blue Ribbon School.

On Tuesday, September 24 Herbert Hoover Elementary School received the blue ribbon title. It was recognized by U.S. Secretary of Education, Arne Duncan. The school is one of 286 schools in the country and one of five Iowa schools to receive the 2013 title.

The 236 public and 50 private schools who were honored will be recognized at a ceremony in November in Washington D.C.

“National Blue Ribbon schools represent examples of educational excellence, and their work reflects the belief that every child in America deserves a world-class education,” said Secretary Duncan.

The National Blue Ribbon Schools Program chooses to honor schools with “exemplary high performing” and “exemplary high improving,” measured by state assessment tests nationally-normed tests.

In over three decades, the National Blue Ribbon Schools Program has awarded nearly 7,500 of America’s schools. The program honors public and private elementary, middle, and high schools.

Notice: you are using an outdated browser. Microsoft does not recommend using IE as your default browser. Some features on this website, like video and images, might not work properly. For the best experience, please upgrade your browser.