Local teachers recognized by Ashford University

Two area teachers were recognized by Ashford University for their excellence.

Jean Hansen, from the Camanche School District was named the “Ashford University 2014 Teacher of the Year” and Nicole Van Zuiden from the River Bend School District received a full scholarship to Ashford’s Master of Arts in Teaching and Learning with Technology program.

A spokesperson from Ashford University said Hansen has been teaching in the Camanche District for 37 years educating first, second, third, fourth, and sixth graders.

“My favorite activity with the students is to read stories and poetry,” Hansen said. “They are like little sponges soaking up every word. It is very rewarding watching the students grow and progress academically from the beginning of the year to the end of the school year.”

As a part of her Teacher of the Year award, Hansen also got $500 for classroom supplies.

Van Zuiden has been teaching in the River Bend District for eight years, educating first and second graders.

She was given tuition, course materials, and a waiver for technology fees for one of the university’s teaching programs.

To be eligible for the awards, teachers must be employed at schools in Clinton, Scott, or Jackson Counties in Iowa or Carroll, Whiteside, or Rock Island Counties in Illinois. Teachers at school districts that have hosted Ashford University teacher-student clinical placements are also eligible.

Filed in: Education

Suggest a correction

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 2,425 other followers