Frost advisory issued for QC, surrounding areas

The QC and surrounding counties have been placed under a frost advisory.

The advisory, issued by the National Weather Service, was in effect from 1 a.m. to 7 a.m. Saturday, May 17, 2014.

The following counties were included in the advisory area: Buchanan, Delaware, Dubuque, Benton, Linn, Jones, Jackson, Iowa, Johnson, Cedar, Clinton, Muscatine, Scott, Keokuk, Washington, Louisa, Jefferson, Henry (Iowa), Des Moines, Van Buren, Lee, Jo Davies, Stephenson, Carroll, Whiteside, Rock Island, Henry (Illinois), Bureau, Putnam, Mercer, Henderson, Warren, Hancock, McDonough, Scotland, and Clark.

Temperatures were expected to fall into the lower to mid-30s overnight. A spokesperson from the NWS said that frost could damage or kill young sensitive plants. It is recommended that these plants are either covered or moved indoors.

Download the free News 8 App – for iOS, click here and for Android, click here

Sign up for breaking news and weather alerts – click here.

Filed in: News, Weather


Suggest a correction

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 2,430 other followers