Geneseo elects new mayor

This is an archived article and the information in the article may be outdated. Please look at the time stamp on the story to see when it was last updated.

Nadine Palmgren is the new mayor of Geneseo, Illinois.

Palmgren was elected in the March 18, 2014 election.

Incumbent mayor Linda Van Der Leest, a former high school counselor, was sworn in as mayor of Geneseo April 13, 2010.  She was elected after defeating former incumbent mayor Pat Eberhardt and another opponent, John McCracken.

With 100% of the precincts reporting, Palmgren won 53% to 47% with an unofficial vote count of 876 to 773.

Get more election results – click here.