Follow the Good Morning Quad Cities 2018 Road Trip here

Area counties eligible for disaster assistance after drought

This is an archived article and the information in the article may be outdated. Please look at the time stamp on the story to see when it was last updated.

Farmers and ranchers in local counties have been deemed eligible for disaster assistance.

A spokesperson from Illinois’ Farm Service Agency announced on Thursday, December 12, 2013 that dozens of Iowa counties have been declared as natural disaster areas caused by a recent drought.

Des Moines, Henry, Johnson, Lee, Louisa, and Muscatine counties are included in the declaration. Hancock, Henderson, Mercer, and Rock Island counties are also eligible for assistance because they are located near a county affected by drought. Click here for a full list of declared counties.

“Our hearts go out to those Illinois farmers and ranchers affected by recent natural disasters,” said Giamanco. “President Obama and I are committed to ensuring that agriculture remains a bright spot in our nation’s economy by sustaining the successes of America’s farmers, ranchers, and rural communities through these difficult times.”

For information on Disaster Assistance Programs, click here.