President signs Illinois disaster declaration

Washington tornado damage photo 11-20-13 (WQAD Photo)

Washington tornado damage photo 11-20-13 (WQAD Photo)

President Barack Obama signed a declaration that makes federal aid available to Illinois communities hit hard by storms and tornadoes November 17, 2013.

The president’s disaster declaration makes the extra funding available to people in Champaign, Douglas, Fayette, Grundy, Jasper, LaSalle, Massac, Pope, Tazewell, Vermillion, Wabash, Washington, Wayne, Will and Woodford counties in Illinois.

Those communities can now apply for grants for temporary housing and home repairs, low-cost loans to cover uninsured property losses and other programs that help individuals and business owners as they work to recover from the storms.

Residents and business owners can apply for assistance starting Thursday, November 28 by registering online at or by calling 1-800-621-3362.  The phone number will operate from 7 a.m. to 10 p.m. Central time, seven days a week, until further notice.

For more coverage of the storm, storm damage and recovery efforts – click here.

Filed in: News, Weather


Suggest a correction

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 2,426 other followers