Iowa receives Presidential Disaster Declaration

This is an archived article and the information in the article may be outdated. Please look at the time stamp on the story to see when it was last updated.

A Presidential Disaster Declaration has been granted for 47 counties in Iowa.

The disaster declaration follows a June 19 request submitted by Iowa Governor Terry Branstad after damaging storms and flooding happened in the 47 counties between May 19 and June 14, 2013.

The counties included in the declaration are: Appanoose, Benton, Buchanan, Buena Vista, Butler, Cherokee, Chickasaw, Clay, Clayton, Crawford, Davis, Delaware, Des Moines, Fayette, Floyd, Franklin, Greene, Grundy, Hardin, Henry, Ida, Iowa, Jasper, Johnson, Jones, Keokuk, Lee, Linn, Louisa, Lyon, Mahaska, Marshall, Mitchell, Monona, Monroe, O’Brien, Palo Alto, Plymouth, Poweshiek, Sac, Sioux, Story, Tama, Wapello, Webster, Winnebago, and Wright.

The Presidential Disaster Declaration means federal funding will be made available to the affected counties under the Public Assistance Program.  The funding may be used for emergency repair and replacement of damaged facilities, debris removal, repair of damaged public property and loans to communities to keep government and schools operational.

Iowa will also receiving funding for hazard mitigation to improve infrastructure to help minimize the impact of future natural disasters.