State Police: It’s still illegal to carry a gun in Illinois
Illinois State Police say until the concealed carry bill is signed or rejected by Governor Pat Quinn, it’s still illegal to carry a loaded firearm in Illinois.
The Seventh Circuit Court of Appeals in Chicago gave Illinois lawmakers until June 9, 2013 to pass a concealed carry measure for the state. That deadline was extended to July 9 while the bill awaits review by Governor Quinn.
The Illinois House of Representatives passed the measure in May, and the Senate approved the bill May 31, but Governor Quinn said Senate Bill 2193 oversteps gun safety laws and that he would stop the bill from becoming law.
The measure remains under review by the governor.
Under the law, state police would issue permits to carry loaded guns to people over 21 years of age who pass 16 hours of training and pay $150 for a permit that is valid for five years. Quinn says he opposes the measure, in part, because it overrides municipal ordinances such as Chicago’s ban on assault weapons.
State Police say they, along with county and municipal law enforcement officers, “will continue to enforce Illinois’ current unlawful use of a weapon statute in all jurisdictions,” according to a June 7 statement from state police.
“Current Illinois law prohibits the carrying of an immediately accessible or loaded firearm on your person or in your vehicle regardless of whether it is concealed. Persons in violation are subject to arrest,” the statement said.