Follow the Good Morning Quad Cities 2018 Road Trip here

Area counties declared disasters after recent flooding

This is an archived article and the information in the article may be outdated. Please look at the time stamp on the story to see when it was last updated.

Cedar Creek in Galesburg 5-26-13

After recent flooding, more local counties have been declared disaster areas.

Illinois Governor Pat Quinn requested federal aid for eight counties including Brown, Henry, and Whiteside Counties. After April’s flooding, 25 Illinois counties have been approved for federal assistance- including Bureau, Fulton, Henderson, Knox, McDonough, Stark, and Rock Island Counties.

Governor Branstad also issued disaster proclamation for eight more Iowa counties affected by flooding. Of the eight counties, Benton, Johnson, and Louisa were included.

Residents who live in disaster declared counties qualify to apply for grants and low-interest federal loans to help recover from flood damage.

For Iowans, grant applications and instructions are available at the Iowa Department of Human Services website.

Disaster declared counties in Illinois can be found at the Federal Emergency Management Agency’s website.