Local counties added to FEMA disaster declaration

This is an archived article and the information in the article may be outdated. Please look at the time stamp on the story to see when it was last updated.

Maple City Mobile Home Park flooding (WQAD Photo) 4-18-13

Residents of several local counties are now eligible for federal disaster assistance to recover from April flooding.

Get more photos, video and coverage of area flooding – click here.

The Federal Emergency Management Agency approved Governor Pat Quinn’s request to add another 14 counties to the list of Illinois locations included in the disaster declaration.

Previously, the declaration included Cook, DeKalb, DuPage, Fulton, Grundy, Kane, Kendall, Lake, LaSalle, McHenry and Will counties.  Counties now added to the disaster declaration are Bureau, Crawford, Henderson, Knox, Livingston, Marshall, Mason, McDonough, Peoria, Rock Island, Schuyler, Stark, Tazewell and Woodford.

Homeowners and renters in the affected counties can apply for grants to help pay for temporary rental assistance, home repairs and other disaster-related expenses not met by insurance or other assistance programs.  To register for assistance, individuals can call 1-800-621-3362 or go online to www.disasterassistance.gov or via mobile device at m.fema.gov.

The U.S. Small Business Administration also has low-interest disaster loans available to help cover residential and business losses.  To apply for that assistance, call 1-800-659-2955 or go online to www.sba.gov/services/disasterassistance.