More local counties eligible for flood recovery help

This is an archived article and the information in the article may be outdated. Please look at the time stamp on the story to see when it was last updated.

Iowa Governor Terry Branstad declared issued disaster declarations for additional counties in our area, making more residents eligible for flood recovery assistance grants.

In an April 23 declaration, Gov. Branstad proclaimed Iowa, Lee and Muscatine counties eligible for Iowa Individual Assistance.  The program provides up to $5,000 for flood recovery for households with incomes up to 200% of the federal poverty level.

Branstad previously declared Cedar, Johnson, Mahaska, Scott and Washington counties eligible for the grants.

To find income level limits to qualify for the grants, click here.

Grant application instructions are available online – click here.

Illinois Governor Pat Quinn declared 38 counties state disaster areas because of flooding.  The list of counties includes Adams, Brown, Bureau, Calhoun, Carroll, Cass, Champaign, Cook, DeKalb, DuPage, Fulton, Greene, Grundy, Hancock, Henderson, Henry, Jersey, Jo Daviess, Kane, Kendall, Lake, LaSalle, Marshall, Mason, McHenry, Mercer, Morgan, Peoria, Pike, Putnam, Rock Island, Schuyler, Scott, Tazewell, Whiteside, Will, Winnebago and Woodford counties.

Illinois residents can begin by filling out a Damage Assessment form available at the Illinois Emergency Management Agency website.

Get more video, photos and information about local flooding – click here.