Six Illinoisans recieve state’s highest award

This is an archived article and the information in the article may be outdated. Please look at the time stamp on the story to see when it was last updated.

A group of outstanding achievers were awarded the state’s highest honor, the Order of Lincoln at a ceremony held at Augustana College.

Illinois Governor Pat Quinn gave the awards to six people with ties to the Quad Cities for their work and leadership. Brenda Barnes, Dr. William Hammer, Timothy Johnson, M.D., Bob Lane, Bob Ontiveros, and Chad Pregracke were the recipients.

The Order of Lincoln awards haven’t been held in the Quad Cities for 40 years.

The event was followed by a dinner.