RIHS students named All-State musicians

This is an archived article and the information in the article may be outdated. Please look at the time stamp on the story to see when it was last updated.

Back LtoR: Erik Whitcomb, Ben McKay, Marcelious Wyatt, Marcus Jackson, Alysha McElroy-Hodges; Front LtoR: Kayla Jackson, Mason Moss, Lizandra Gomez, Sam Ferry. (submitted photo)

Nine students from Rock Island High School were named as All-State musicians by the Illinois Music Educators Association.

The students will perform at the All-State Music Festival, the most prestigious high school music festival in Illinois.  Being selected to perform at the festival is the highest single honor a high school musician can achieve.

The Rock Island students named All-State musicians are Kayla Jackson (Sr. -Flute), Ben McKay (Jr. -Trumpet), Lizandra Gomez (Sr. – Clarinet), Erik Whitcomb (Sr. – French Horn), Mason Moss (Sr. -Jazz Piano), Marcelious Wyatt (Sr. Tuba), Sam Ferry (Sr. – Honors Choir), Alysha McElroy-Hodges (Sr. -Jazz Choir) and Marcus Jackson (Honors Choir).

The Rock Island High School band program is directed by Pete Carlin and the choral program is directed by Scott Voigt. 

The annual Illinois Music Educators Association festival is scheduled for January 24-26, 2013 in Peoria.

Click here for more news from Rock Island and West Rock Island County