Follow the Good Morning Quad Cities 2018 Road Trip here

Western Big Six reorganized and renamed

This is an archived article and the information in the article may be outdated. Please look at the time stamp on the story to see when it was last updated.

The Western Big Six and four Mid-States schools will merge to form a new conference for high school football.

The change takes effect for the 2013 school year.

Current Western Big Six members Alleman, Galesburg, Moline, Quincy, Rock Island and United Township will join Peoria Manual, Peoria Richwoods, Peoria Central and Peoria Notre Dame to form the new Mid-West 10 Football Conference when play begins in the fall of 2012.

A new two-year game schedule has already been approved for the Mid-West 10 teams.  Sophomore games will be played first, followed by varsity games that start at 7:30 p.m.