Pleasant Valley girls track stripped of state title

Scam disguised as message from Facebook

facebook logo generic

If you still get email notifications from Facebook, beware of an email telling you a friend tagged you in a picture – it could be bogus.

Facebook email notifications usually tell you WHICH friends tagged you in a picture.  The notification containing this latest malware just says “one of your friends added a new photo with you to the album.”

Mashable.com reports a new strain of malware called “Troj/Agent-XNN” is circulating through Facebook.    Victims get an email from Facebook encouraging you to view photos as an attachment and, when you click the infected link it opens the malware file.

That lets hackers get control over your Windows-operated computer.

This is a different malware warning than the one issued in July, which also involved phony notices that you were tagged in a photo.  Read about that one – click here.

They typically look like this: