A new malware scare could affect you if you get notifications from Facebook via email.
Emails containing notifications saying you’ve been tagged in a photo could actually contain malware according to SophosLabs. They posted the warning on a July 17, 2012 blog.
An email they cited contained a misspelling of the word Facebook, using three “o”s (see picture below).
Clicking the link in the email doesn’t take you to Facebook. Instead, you’re taken to a website that could put your computer at risk for malware. You’re only there for about four seconds before your browser is redirected to Facebook.
The easiest way to tell whether it’s legit is to hover your mouse over the link without clicking. That should display the web address for the link in the lower-left corner of your screen, showing you the link isn’t going to Facebook.