Follow the Good Morning Quad Cities 2018 Road Trip here

Area teens elected Illinois FFA officers

This is an archived article and the information in the article may be outdated. Please look at the time stamp on the story to see when it was last updated.

Teens from our area are among those elected to serve on the 2012-2013 Illinois State FFA Officer Team.

Ten candidates were nominated by an officer selection committee earlier in 2012. 

Each of the five elected officers will put college pursuits on hold for a year to serve the Illinois FFA.

FFA officers visit chapters around the state, conduct workshops and meetings for FFA members, promote agricultural education and represent the Illinois FFA. 

The new officers were elected by delegates Wednesday, June 13, 2012 at the state Future Farmers of America convention in Springfield. 

The new Illinois FFA Officers are:

  • President: Darren Riskedal, 18, of Leland (LaSalle County) and the Somonauk-Leland-Sandwich FFA Chapter. He is the son of Brad and Joyce Riskedal. Darren is a 2011 graduate of Leland High School and studied agriculture at Joliet Junior College this past year.
  • Vice President: Dalton Heavner, 18, of Pearl (Pike County) and the Pittsfield FFA Chapter. He is the son of Dan and Jody Heavner. Dalton is a 2012 graduate of Pittsfield High School.
  • Reporter: Courtney Gerstenecker, 18, of Carlyle (Clinton County) and the Carlyle FFA Chapter. She is the daughter of Robert and Tamra Gerstenecker. Courtney is a 2012 graduate of Carlyle High School.
  • Secretary: Joel Limestall, 18, of Waterloo (Monroe County) and the Waterloo FFA Chapter. He is the son of Scott and Karen Limestall. Joel is a 2012 graduate of Waterloo High School.
  • Treasurer: Tyson Schulte, 18, of Milan (Rock Island County) and the Sherrard FFA Chapter. He is the son of Jobst “J.D.” and Sheryl Schulte. Tyson is a 2012 graduate of Sherrard High School.

The newly-elected officers were installed Thursday, June 14 and will serve for the next 12 months.

Pictured from left to right:  Darren Riskedal, President;  Dalton Heavner, Vice President; Courtney Gerstenecker, Reporter; Joel Limestall, Secretary; and Tyson Schulte, Treasurer.  Photo provided by Illinois FFA.