Marino named CHL MVP

This is an archived article and the information in the article may be outdated. Please look at the time stamp on the story to see when it was last updated.

Quad City Mallards forward Brandon Marino is the 2011-2012 Central Hockey League's Most Valuable Player.

Marino finished second in the league with 90 points.  He led the league with 41 goals and 13 power play goals.  He had 24 multiple-point games and scored seven game-winning goals during the season.  He was also named to the All-CHL Team.

Marino is the only second player to win the CHL All-Star Game MVP and league MVP honors in the same season.  Greg Pankewicz won those awards in the 2004-2005 season.

The MVP honor is determined through balloting from CHL coaches, communications staff and selected media members in CHL markets.

Half of the MVP votes this year went to Marino.  Other MVP finalists were Todd Robinson of Evansville, Bruce Graham of Allen, Shawn Limpright of Rapid City and Matt Robinson of Wichita.

CHL Most Valuable Player Award (winners since 2001)

2011-12 – Brandon Marino (Quad City)
2010-11 – Riley Nelson (Colorado)
2009-10 – Kevin Ulanski (Colorado)
2008-09 – Sebastien Thinel (Odessa)
2007-08 – Jeff Bes (Laredo)
2006-07 – Jeff Christian (Youngstown)
2005-06 – Derek Hahn (Amarillo)
2004-05 – Greg Pankewicz (Colorado)
2003-04 – Jeff Bes (Laredo)
2002-03 – Don Parsons (Memphis)
2001-02 – Don Parsons (Memphis)

2012 CHL Awards that have already been announced are:
CHL Athletic Trainer of the Year – Bryan Rogers, Dayton Gems
CHL Gunner Garrett Equipment Manager of the Year – Romeo Vivit, Rapid City Rush
CHL All-Rookie Team – Jared Brown (QDC), Andrew Courtney (MIZ), Mark Guggenberger (TEX), Dylan King (ALN), Jeff Terminesi (TUL) and Mike Ullrich (TUL)
All-CHL Team – Frankie DeAngelis (FTW), Mark Guggenberger (TEX), Shawn Limpright (RPD, Brandon Marino (QDC), Todd Robinson (EVA) and Riley Weselowski (RPD)
CHL Man of the Year – Riley Weselowski, Rapid City Rush
CHL Rookie of the Year – Mark Guggenberger, Texas Brahmas
CHL Coach of the Year – Kevin McClelland, Wichita Thunder
CHL Most Outstanding Defenseman – Riley Weselowski, Rapid City Rush
CHL Most Outstanding Goaltender – Mark Guggenberger, Texas Brahmas
CHL Joe Burton Scoring Champion – Todd Robinson, Evansville IceMen
CHL Most Valuable Player – Brandon Marino, Quad City Mallards